How Many Belts Are There in Jiu Jitsu? A Comprehensive Guide to the BJJ Belt System

You’ve seen it in movies, heard about it in the gym, and maybe even watched a few matches on YouTube. Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) is becoming increasingly popular all over the world. It’s no secret that people are attracted to the idea of learning a martial art that can help them defend themselves, stay fit, and build mental discipline.

But let’s face it, there’s something about the colored belts in martial arts that fascinates us. So, how many belts are there in jiu jitsu? You’re about to find out!

Discovering the BJJ Belt System

The BJJ belt system is a way to measure a practitioner’s progress in terms of skill, knowledge, and dedication to the art. Unlike some other martial arts, BJJ has a relatively simple belt system, which can be broken down into the following belts:

  • White
  • Blue
  • Purple
  • Brown
  • Black

But wait, there’s more! After the black belt, there are different degrees that symbolize a practitioner’s mastery and expertise.

Beyond the Black Belt: A Journey of Continuous Learning

As you progress through the ranks, you’ll eventually reach the coveted black belt. But, the journey doesn’t end there. In fact, the black belt is just the beginning of a new phase in your BJJ adventure. There are six degrees of black belt, each represented by a white stripe.

After achieving the 6th-degree black belt, a practitioner can be awarded the coral belt, which is a mix of red and black. The coral belt has two degrees. When the 2nd-degree coral belt is achieved, a practitioner is eligible for the highest belt in BJJ: the red belt.

To sum up, there are 5 primary belts, 6 degrees of black belt, 2 degrees of coral belt, and the red belt. That’s a grand total of 14 belt levels in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu!

Real-Life Examples: BJJ Belts in Action

It’s story time! Let’s dive into the world of BJJ through the eyes of Anna, a newcomer who has just started training.

Anna’s Journey Begins: White Belt

At the beginning of her BJJ journey, Anna starts as a white belt, like everyone else. This is the stage where she learns the basics, gets familiar with the techniques, and starts to understand the art’s philosophy.

The First Milestone: Blue Belt

After months of dedication and hard work, Anna earns her blue belt. At this level, she has gained a solid understanding of the fundamentals and can effectively defend herself in various situations. The blue belt is considered a significant milestone, as many people who start BJJ never make it past this stage.

Climbing the Ranks: Purple, Brown, and Beyond

As Anna continues to train, she earns her purple and brown belts. At these levels, her skills become more refined, and she develops a deeper understanding of BJJ concepts. She also starts to develop her unique style and approach to grappling.

After years of practice, dedication, and competition, Anna achieves the ultimate goal: the black belt. But she knows that the journey doesn’t end there. She continues to learn, grow, and master her craft, aiming for the degrees that follow.

See: Belt Levels In Bjj

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

To help you gain a better understanding of the Brazilian Jiu Jitsu belt system, here are some frequently asked questions and their answers.

How long does it take to progress through the belts in BJJ?

The time it takes to progress through the belts varies for each individual, as it depends on factors such as the frequency of training, natural ability, and dedication. On average, it can take anywhere from 8 to 12 years to achieve a black belt. However, remember that the journey is personal, and your focus should be on growth and development rather than belt progression.

Are there any age requirements for BJJ belts?

Yes, there are age requirements for certain belts in BJJ. For example, a practitioner must be at least 16 years old to earn a blue belt, and at least 19 years old to earn a black belt. There are also separate belt systems for children, with different colors and age requirements.

How often should I train to progress in BJJ?

The frequency of training depends on your personal goals, schedule, and physical ability. Generally, training 2-3 times per week is considered a good starting point for beginners. As you become more experienced and committed, you may increase the frequency of your training sessions.

Can I skip belts in BJJ?

It’s rare for practitioners to skip belts in BJJ, as each belt level represents an essential stage of development. However, in exceptional cases, highly skilled and experienced practitioners who have trained in other grappling arts may be promoted more quickly through the ranks.

To help you gain a better understanding of the Brazilian Jiu Jitsu belt system, here are some frequently asked questions and their answers.

The Takeaway: The Belt Journey is a Personal One

The journey through the belts in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu is a personal and unique experience for each practitioner. The focus should always be on personal growth, learning, and development, rather than chasing belts or accolades.

So, how many belts are there in jiu j itsu? In total, there are 14 belt levels, each representing a different stage of expertise and commitment. However, it’s essential to remember that the belt color is not the ultimate goal. Instead, it serves as a marker for your progress and a testament to your hard work and dedication to the art.

As you embark on your own BJJ journey, keep in mind that it’s not about the destination; it’s about the experiences, lessons, and friendships you make along the way. Embrace the challenges and the joys of learning Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, and you’ll find that the belt system is merely a framework that guides your personal growth and development.

In the end, the belts serve as symbols of your journey, but it’s the knowledge, skill, and character you develop that truly matter. So, whether you’re just starting out or you’re a seasoned practitioner, remember to always approach your BJJ training with humility, dedication, and an open mind. Happy rolling!

Leave a Comment